Media statement

The Queensland Sentencing Advisory Council is pleased to announce the appointment of Assistant Commissioner Debbie Platz APM as its newest Council member.

Debbie Platz is currently the Assistant Commissioner Security & Counter-Terrorism Command for Queensland Police Service and was previously the Assistant Commissioner Crime Operations for the Australian Federal Police.

Council Chair John Robertson welcomed the Assistant Commissioner’s appointment.

‘Assistant Commissioner Platz has made a considerable contribution to policing at both state and national level,’ Mr Roberston said.

‘I have no doubt her expertise will be invaluable to Council.’

In addition to the Assistant Commissioner’s appointment, the following Council members were reappointed for a three-year term:

  • Chair: Retired judge John Robertson
  • Deputy Chair: Professor Elena Marchetti
  • Ms Jo Bryant
  • Ms Debbie Kilroy OAM
  • Ms Boneta-Marie Mabo
  • Mr Philip McCarthy QC
  • Ms Katarina Prskalo (from 5 October 2022)
  • Mr Dan Rogers
  • Mr Warren Strange

The Council provides independent research and advice, seek public views and promote community understanding of sentencing matters.

The latest appointment brings the Council membership to 10.

Contact: Hayley Carter

Phone: 0459 887 077